

## To Know Christ and To Make Him Known

## Shepherd of the Hills Lutheran Church, LLC Annual Meeting Minutes January 29, 2023

Matthew Frable, Minister of Music, and the Worship Team opened the meeting with the song "Forever" by Chris Tomlin.

Donna Hawkinson, Recording Secretary, affirmed there was a quorum with 106 in attendance.

President Erich Korsten welcomed everyone and called the meeting to order at 12:10 pm in the church sanctuary.

Pastor Jeff Teeples provided a devotion on Romans 14:17, "For the kingdom of heaven is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit". We have worth because of Christ, our Savior. This is righteousness. We have peace in Christ which transcends all understanding. Our joy is continuous because it is given by God. Pastor asked people to talk among themselves answering two questions: What do you appreciate about Shepherd of the Hills? Have you seen Christ's righteousness, peace or joy in your lives as you look back over this past year? Several shared their answers. Pastor Jeff gave a prayer to open the meeting.

President Korsten recognized the meeting parliamentarian, Fred Horn. He asked for approval of the agenda. Judy Konop made a motion to accept the agenda as presented. Daryl Stemm seconded the motion. No further discussion. All were in favor. The motion was carried.

Donna Hawkinson did a quick review of the January 2022 meeting minutes. No changes were made or questions asked. Dan Beck made a motion to approve the minutes as written; seconded by Sharon Johnson. All were in favor. The motion was carried.

President Korsten gave a quick review of 2022 noting a longer report was available in the annual report handed out. Noting a few items: the office went through a reorganization; missing policies and procedures were created; community outreach grew. He thanked the Council, office staff, the many who volunteer their time, and especially those who attend Shepherd of the Hills for their dedication and generosity of time, talents and financial support which was evident with the fundraising drive for the "5 Project Fund" which raised \$100,000 within a little over three months of time. Thank you all so very much. He stated he was proud to be a member of the SOTH community of believers.

Darlene Dailey, chair of the 2022 Nominating Committee, introduced the committee and thanked them for their efforts to fill the 2023 ballot of officers and council at large members. They were Ruby Bjornholt, Rose Gibson, Don Wirth, Sharon Johnson and Lloyd Tarr.

The 2023 slate of Officers and Council member candidates were introduced.

Erich Korsten for President, one-year term Caroline Meyer for Vice President, one-year term Daryl Stemm for Director of Finance/Treasurer, one-year term Donna Hawkinson for Recording Secretary, one-year term Mike Peterson, Council Member At Large, two-year term

The 2023 Nominating Committee candidates brought forward for election were: Dottie Dudgeon and Sue Boyle, co-chairs, Lucy Almlie, Kathy Patterson, Steve Forshier, and Dwaine Abbe.

Members were invited to complete their ballots and turn them in for counting.

Bill Gest presented the financial results for 2022 which included a down payment on the carpet to allow us to take advantage of the 2022 prices; net income for the year was favorable by over \$3100; Fidelity investment year-end balance was \$540,548 after adjusting investment allocations to a lower risk portfolio.

Mr. Gest presented the 2023 Financial Budget. A motion was made by Dottie Dudgeon to accept the budget as presented for 2023. Motion was seconded by Donald Wirth. A question was asked if we received any income from the school using our property. Mr. Gest recognized that we do receive a donation from the school based on the number of days they use our property that is reflected in the miscellaneous revenue account. No further discussion. The motion was called. All were in favor. Motion to approve the 2023 Financial Budget was carried.

The election results of Officers, Council and Nominating Committee were presented by Donald Wirth with all candidates unanimously being elected into the following positions.

President - Erich Korsten for one year
Vice President - Caroline Meyer for one year
Director of Finance/Treasurer - Daryl Stemm for one year
Recording Secretary - Donna Hawkinson for one year
Council Member at Large – Mike Peterson for a two-year term

Nominating Committee members for 2023 will be Dottie Dudgeon and Susan Boyle acting as cochairs, Lucy Almlie, Kathy Patterson, Steve Forshier and Dwaine Abbe.

President Korsten called for a motion to adjourn. Dennis Johnson made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Dwaine Abbe seconded the motion. There being no discussion, the motion was called with all in favor. Motion was carried. President Korsten closed the meeting at 12:35 pm. Pastor Jeff Teeples closed the meeting with a prayer.

Respectfully submitted by, **Donna Hawkinson**Recording Secretary
Approved January 28, 2024